Everyone Says I’m Sorry

“The thing I find most amazing in Amazing Grace, is the chance to give it out. Maybe that’s what love is all about.” ~Brandon Heath

I recently learned about grace. Yes, I already knew what “grace” was, the definition at least. But I had the chance to actually experience something that really made me understand grace.

Forgiveness is a powerful thing. I can say the words “I’m sorry” without any problem – there is no feeling or thought involved. It’s almost like a reflex. I bump into someone, “I’m sorry”. I didn’t quite hear what you said, “I’m sorry?” I even tell my dog “I’m sorry” when I step on his tail. As if he could possibly understand what that means and as if I am actually truly sorry that he put his tail right in my walking path. The words “I’m sorry” have lost meaning.

But to ask somebody for forgiveness – that is something; but even more, to be asked for forgiveness when somebody has wronged you. To have the ability to set someone free from the trap of the devil – that is awesome!

I say the trap of the devil because God never wants you to feel guilty for your sins. Guilt is the devil’s trick. It’s his way of isolating you from God. God forgives all sins when you bring them to Him. There is no need to feel that guilt. But if you do, receiving forgiveness from the one you have wronged usually helps release that guilt.

So when someone comes to you and asks you for your forgiveness, which is something very different from them saying “I’m sorry”, consider this: In order to free them, and to truly let them feel the Grace of God’s love, you need to release them – forgiveness.

Anyone you forgive, I also forgave. And what I have forgiven – if there was anything to forgive – I have forgiven in the sight of Christ for your sake, in order that satan might not outwit us. For we are not unaware of his schemes.
(2 Corinthians 2:10-11)

Leave a comment