Deaf, Dumb and Blind

While walking through the mass of people on their way to work this morning, I looked around and thought to myself – we really do live in a society of deaf, dumb, and blind (myself included).

Here we all are, walking like cattle as we file off the train. A slow pace inches us to the automatic doors that open to herd us into the station. No words being said, pressed up against the person next to you, like unaware animals on their way to slaughter.

The process continues as we step onto the escalator – a conveyor belt that takes us up out of the underground depot and into the bright sun that assaults us as if without warning. In unison, we flip our sunglasses down and pop our earbuds in.  It’s now time for the mindless walk to the office.  This is where the deaf, dumb, and blind really becomes obvious.

The streets are filled with people walking at a fast pace, heads down. Wires strung from our ears, blocking out all offensive noises. Our lips move to the lyrics we are hearing without any sound leaving our mouths.  Eyes are shielded by dark glasses to prevent the need to make eye contact with the people we bump into as we plow through the crowd and dart across the streets like a game of Frogger; dodging taxis and bike messengers, occasionally sidestepping a crowd of pigeons or a homeless person sprawled out on the sidewalk.

Eventually we all make it to our “final destination”.  So here I am, on the 22nd floor of a building made of glass and steel.  My office is floor to ceiling windows, keeping me out of the elements, but being sure to remind me what I am missing.  It feels a bit like the primate house at the zoo, minus the bananas.  Earbuds back in to help avoid any unnecessary contact with my co-workers.  Blinders on as I stare straight ahead at my computer screen.  The countdown to 5pm starts as I anxiously wait to begin my deaf, dumb and blind journey back to the cattle call.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 15:17:15

    Hello, thank you for your writings on Empathy/Compassion. I must have come to the same inspired realizations as you. I was looking up all of the very same words and meanings, trying to make sense of what I was coming to feel in my mind and my heart strongly. I have long felt that God’s Empathy and Compassion was found through Jesus, but I was not sure how to bring this to a communicable understanding.

    Reply

  2. Alex
    Jul 26, 2015 @ 09:28:49

    I like how you give the definition. If I searched you to answer my question and you know I don’t understand. I like how you explain with examples. Thanks. Your great

    Reply

  3. ttimesoftrouble
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 19:08:42

    Even though I have created 14 websites and written over a thousand blogs through the years, and even though I also have one published book, and even though most all my works have to do with this world of Christians not showing love for others as meant to be.

    Sympathy, Empathy, Pity and Compassion: Understanding the Difference

    None, no, not one can hear, understand, or see; and its because they all are of this world with worldly minds rather than being spiritual and not of this world. Psalms 14:2-3, Colossians 3:1-6, John 15:19

    Your way with words is excellent, therefore I take joy in reading what you speak because I can so well relate with understanding.

    Reply

Leave a comment